Premi per la ricerca

Fausto ACERNESE Premi per la ricerca

For the observation of gravitational waves, opening new horizons in astronomy and physics.
Gruber Cosmology Prize
The Gruber Cosmology Prize is awarded annually to honor a leading cosmologist, astronomer, astrophysicist or scientific philosopher for theoretical, analytical, conceptual or observational discoveries leading to fundamental advances in our understanding of the universe. The Prize recipients are chosen by the Cosmology Selection Advisory Board. Its 2016 members were: Andrew Fabian, University of Cambridge; Robert Kennicutt, University of Cambridge (Chair); Helge Kragh, Niels Bohr Institute; Sadanori Okamura, Hosei University; Frans Pretorius, Princeton University; Subir Sarkar, University of Oxford; and Rashid Sunyaev, Max Planck Institute for Astrophysics. Owen Gingerich of the Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics and Martin Rees of the University of Cambridge also serve as special Cosmology advisors to the Foundation.
The Gruber Foundation - Stati Uniti
The vision, persistence, and leadership of Ronald Drever, Kip Thorne, and Rainer Weiss, along with the contributions of a thousand collaborators between The LIGO Scientific Collaboration and the Virgo Collaboration, led to the first detection of gravitational waves, not only validating a key prediction of Einstein’s general theory of relativity but inaugurating a new method for studying cosmology, in particular the workings of astronomical objects exhibiting the greatest gravitational effects in the universe.
  Fonte dati IRIS-RM